© 2019 by Goucher College Writing Program  |   For Questions email phaye.poliakoff-chen@goucher.edu

The Plenary Address

Intersections of Privilege and Access

Writing Programs, Disciplinary Knowledge, and the Shape of a Field

Writing program work is exciting because of the diverse students, instructors, programs, and ecologies in which we labor. A challenge, however, is to ensure that we understand how that diversity either constrains or supports access: to learning resources, to professional support, to time, to disciplinary knowledge, to instructor autonomy, to stable working conditions, and to learning environments that encourage students’ development. Writing programs and classrooms have the potential both to reinforce or to dismantle the structures of privilege that create unequal access to higher education and inhibit students’ growth as writers and readers.

The plenary keynote will map intersections of privilege and access across the matrix of structures that influence how writing classrooms and programs include or exclude diverse student writers and sponsor their growth and potential. Synthesizing writing studies literature from labor studies, work on Teaching for Transfer and threshold concepts, empirical research, and other lines of inquiry within the field, the keynote presenters will offer recommendations for creating a capacious and equitable discipline, one that lives up to its aspirations of radical inclusion.

About the Presenters

Holly Hassel and Joanne Baird Giordano taught at the University of Wisconsin-Marathon County, an open-admissions two-year college, for many years before the University of Wisconsin System dismantled its statewide open-access institution as a consequence of austerity measures. Hassel is currently Professor of English at North Dakota State University in Fargo, ND and the editor of Teaching English in the Two-Year College. Giordano is Assistant Professor of English at Salt Lake Community College in Salt Lake City, UT and the inaugural chair of the 2019 TYCA National Conference held in conjunction with CCCC. They received 2010 Mark Reynolds Award for Best TETYC Article of the Year and the 2017 CWPA Award for Outstanding Scholarship.